The Art of the Automobile: Mr. Ralph Lauren’s Cars

Today marked the inauguration of The Art of the Automobile, Masterpieces from the Ralph Lauren Collection, at Paris’ Musée des Arts Décoratifs.  The exhibit, which runs from April 28th until August 28th, includes 17 of the most incredible cars from the 1930s to present day.  Included in Lauren’s collection are a 1929 Bentley Blower, a 1930 Mercedes-Benz SSK, 1964 Ferrari 250 LM, a 1960 Ferrari 250 GT SWB Berlinetta Scaglietti, a 1956/1958 Jaguar XKS and a 1931 Alfa Romeo Monza 8C 2300.  If that wasn’t enough, the exhibit also includes two of the world’s most expensive vehicles: a 1962 Ferrari 250 GTO and a 1938 Bugatti 57 SC Atlantic Coupe (1 of 4 made, 1 of 2 that remain).  Each of these cars are estimated to be worth $30-$40 million.  Who says fashion doesn’t pay?

“I don’t ever think of myself as a collector,” said the fashion designer legend.  “In my mind they are like parts of me.  Cars have always inspired me, the details on cars that I’ve loved, and have utilized those details in watches and furniture.  I believe in cars being works of art.  It’s technology, it’s mechanics, it’s details and to me that’s a special kind of art.”  Wish I could find my way to Paris to see this.  Who knows, I’ve got some time until August 28th.  You can check out some of the cars on exhibit below.  For the full collection, please visit the It’s All Style To Me Facebook Page.  Photos c/o Ralph Lauren.

Bugatti 57 Atlantic
Alfa Romeo 1938Mercedes-Benz SSK 1930Ferrari Testa Rossa 1958Bentley Blower 1929Jaguar 1958

2 Responses to The Art of the Automobile: Mr. Ralph Lauren’s Cars

  1. Chris says:

    I have read about his collection, the best part, he actually drives all of the cars…..

Leave a Reply

